Don't miss out! Get the best events & activities in your inbox weekly...

Boston Movies for Kids and Families

Find movies for kids and families in Boston and in nearby suburbs. Movie theaters that show kids movies near Boston and movie events.


Metrowest Student Film Festival 2021 (Submission Deadline May 27, 2021)Virtual/Online
Sun, January 24, 2021  -  Fri, May 7, 2021   
The MWSFF is a student film festival dedicated to showcasing the talents and creativity of the region's youth by providing an opportunity for young filmmakers and production teams to explore and create stories through motion pictures.
West Springfield Drive-In: Coming April 23!Western Mass
Thu, April 1, 2021  -  Fri, April 23, 2021   
West Springfield Drive-In, located on the Big E Fairgrounds, will feature two 45’ by 60’ screens and be able to accommodate 300 cars each, in a safe and socially distant family experience.
2021 oscar nominated short films in animation live action  documentary small photo
2021 Oscar Nominated Short Films in Animation, Live Action & DocumentaryVirtual/Online
Tue, April 6, 2021  -  Sun, May 9, 2021   
Stream the Oscar-nominated shorts in animation, live action & documentary with the ICA. Audiences get the chance to experience some of today’s most exciting independent film work.
family virtual cinema with the ica small photo
Family Virtual Cinema with the ICAVirtual/Online, Free
Sat, April 17, 2021  -  Sun, April 25, 2021   
Kick back as a family and watch art unfold before you with inspiring short films from the Boston International Kids Film Festival. Register below to enjoy free access to films.
Join Showcase Cinema de Lux Legacy Place: “PJ Masks Pajama Party” ScreeningDedham, $
Mon, April 19, 2021  -  Thu, April 22, 2021   
Celebrate April school vacation week with PJ Masks at Showcase Cinema de Lux Legacy Place, with daily screenings of “PJ Masks Pajama Party” taking place at 1pm. Tickets are only $5.
boston summer movies guide 2021 dates tbd small photo
Boston Summer Movies Guide 2021 (Dates TBD)Massachusetts, Free
Sat, June 19, 2021  -  Sun, August 22, 2021   
Summer is here and warm weather calls for outdoor fun. Here's a great list of Summer Movies under the stars in and around Boston. Enjoy!...
classic movies by moonlight boston harbor hotel - cancelled small photo
Classic Movies by Moonlight: Boston Harbor Hotel - CANCELLEDBoston, Free
Sat, June 26, 2021  -  Sat, August 28, 2021   
Enjoy free Movies by Moonlight projected on the Harbor this summer at Boston Harbor Hotel. The cool evening breeze and view from Intrigue Café set the stage for the perfect opportunity to view these classic films under...
free friday flicks at the hatch shell boston 2021 small photo
Free Friday Flicks at the Hatch Shell Boston 2021Boston, Free
Fri, July 9, 2021  -  Fri, August 20, 2021   
Free Friday Flicks are classic & popular, family-oriented movies shown each Friday night in Boston throughout the summer at the DCR Hatch Shell on the Esplanade at no cost for over 25 years!
pj masks pajama party event at showcase cinemas small photo
PJ Masks Pajama Party Event at Showcase CinemasMassachusetts, $
Wed, October 20, 2021  -  Thu, October 21, 2021   
Join the PJ Masks as they go into the night to save the day, only at Showcase! Each presentation includes episodes of your favorite nighttime superheroes in action, music videos, and a special interactive Showcase...
Boston International Kids Film Festival Online 2021Boston, $
Tue, November 9, 2021  -  Sun, November 21, 2021   
The ninth annual Boston International Kids Film Festival in partnership with GBH will take place online for a special three day film festival November 9 - 21, 2021.
sing-along sound of music small photo
Sing-Along Sound of MusicArlington, $$
Wed, November 24, 2021  -  Sun, November 28, 2021   
Sing-a-long-a Sound of Music is your chance to test your vocal range with several hundred other assorted nuns, Von Trapp family members and Julie Andrews look-a-likes. Costumes are highly recommended.
Virtual Screening Room via Coolidge Corner TheaterBrookline, $$
Wed, March 24, 3030  -  Thu, April 30, 2020   
Coolodge Corner Theater is offering some of our great, curated Coolidge programming, virtually. Your rental of these films and purchase of tickets for film education classes helps support the Coolidge and compensate our staff during this unprecedented time. Thank you!
Popular Resources
Boston with Kids
Free Things to Do
Family & Kids Events
Mass RMV - DMV
Boston Birthday Parties
Boston Museums
Rose Kennedy Greenway
Boston Aquarium
Boston Massachusetts
Boston Bowling
Boston Haymarket
Boston Whale Watching