Don't miss out! Get the best events & activities in your inbox weekly...
Home > Events > Nature & Outdoors
Submit Event View Newsletter

Nature and Outdoor Events for Kids and Families Near Boston

Introducing children to the wonders of nature at an early age can do wonders for the imagination, and help to raise a caring environmentally aware human. Find all sorts of nature-themed events near Boston for kids and treat them to a wonderful world of learning.


Outdoor & Unplugged: A Walk in the WoodsNew Hampshire, $
Thu, March 10, 2022  -  Thu, July 21, 2022   
Enjoy a guided family-friendly nature walk through Alnoba's 600 acres of forests, ponds, trails, fields and art collection.
New England Aquarium Whale Watch CruiseBoston, $$$
Sat, March 19, 2022  -  Sun, November 13, 2022   
The New England Aquarium has partnered with Boston Harbor City Cruises to give visitors front-row seats to view the ocean’s most fascinating and magnificent animals. Join us! The New England Aquarium Whale Watch conveniently departs from Central Wharf.
swan boat rides small photo
Swan Boat RidesBack Bay, $
Sat, April 16, 2022  -  Mon, September 5, 2022   
Enjoy a peaceful 15 minute paddleboat cruise around the Boston Garden lagoon. The only boats of their kind in the world, inspired by the opera Lohengrin.
Uprooted: A Land Art Exhibition by Gary SmithBoylston, $
Sat, April 23, 2022  -  Tue, November 1, 2022   
Explore 11 stunning sculptures set amongst the landscape of New England Botanic Garden at Tower Hill. Made from natural materials collected at the garden, this exhibit celebrates the connections between people and nature.
Guided Tours: UprootedBoylston, Free
Wed, May 11, 2022  -  Fri, September 30, 2022   
An award-winning landscape architect, his garden design work has focused almost entirely on public botanical gardens including the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, the Daniel Stowe Botanical Garden, Longwood Gardens, and Santa Fe Botanical Garden.
ferry service to boston harbor islands small photo
Ferry Service to Boston Harbor IslandsBoston, $
Fri, May 20, 2022  -  Mon, September 5, 2022   
Cool down at the Boston Harbor Islands! Enjoy the exhilarating ferry ride and then swim, kayak, hike and picnic on the islands. Spectacle Island is an easy ferry ride from Long Wharf in downtown Boston.
Arlington Astronomy Nights at Robbins ParkArlington, Free
Sat, June 11, 2022  -  Sat, September 3, 2022   
This summer, Astronomy Nights at Robbins Farm Park return! Due to scheduling constraints, we'll only have three nights this year.
Summer Classes on the FarmNewton, $$
Tue, July 5, 2022  -  Fri, September 2, 2022   
Calling all future farmers, scientists, chefs, naturalists, and gardeners! We are excited to invite children back to the Farm for a joyful summer learning experience in 2022.
fairyborough small photo
FairyboroughActon, $
Sat, July 9, 2022  -  Thu, July 14, 2022   
Welcome to Fairyborough – the little city with a big future! Design, build, and explore a mysterious forest environment of fairy houses, gnome homes, and sprite skyscrapers
weekly guided nature hikes at the bog small photo
Weekly Guided Nature Hikes at the BogFoxboro, Free
Fri, July 15, 2022  -  Fri, August 26, 2022   
Join Teacher Naturalists from Mass Audubon for an hour hike around The Bog at Patriot Place located behind Bass Pro Shops on Friday at 10:00 AM!
Popular Resources
Boston with Kids
Free Things to Do
Family & Kids Events
Mass RMV - DMV
Boston Birthday Parties
Boston Museums
Rose Kennedy Greenway
Boston Aquarium
Boston Massachusetts
Boston Bowling
Boston Haymarket
Boston Whale Watching